Ofsted Good GP ColourRecent 2023 OFSTED Inspection

Following a recent OFSTED inspection of our school (March 2023), we are pleased to share with you the final report released on 9th May 2023.

We are delighted that it recognises the many, many strengths of our school, in particular

-          the ‘passion and knowledge’ exuded by our teachers,

-          that ‘pupils love learning and achieve well’, and 

-          the leadership of an ‘ambitious and meaningful curriculum’ that contributes to your children becoming ‘keen, knowledgeable learners

In addition, it recognises reading and music opportunities as key to pupils' success, along with ‘many enrichment activities’. ‘Pupils behave themselves because they understand what leaders and staff expect of them‘ and ‘said that 'they feel safe at school.’ 

The full report can be found here:  OFSTED REPORT MARCH 2023

Even though we have only one minor area for improvement (AfI), we have published below an explanation as to how we intend to respond to it.

The one Area for Improvement explained:

The HMI praised the quality of our own 'school designed' curriculum (including the Early Years Curriculum). The HMI does not want the school's leaders to collect numerical data termly against the seperate milestones we created to track progress, but to use our quality curriculum more when assessing children.

Our response:

- whilst our funding agreement with WBC requires us to report numerical nursery data termly to the LA, we will review the approach for Early Years staff to submit data to leaders

- we will integrate our milestones (designed by our teachers) into our curriculum so this is one document that can be used for assessment

Any minor changes made will still ensure pupils progress in the EY curriculum, keep parents informed in a timely way should gaps occur in learning, and ensure our provision continues to be of highest quality to meet the needs of every child.

-------------

Media Statement:

The Executive Headteacher, Mr Chris Metcalfe, says that: 'I am very pleased that OFSTED have  recognised what it is like to be a child in our school - they 'love learning and achieve well'.  What has been noted is the high quality 'ambitious and meaningful curriculum' for every child, and this is a result of a commited team, quality professional development and great school and family partnerships'. 

===================================================

OFSTED 2013, 2018, 2023.

The school is very pleased to be awarded the judgement of GOOD in all four areas by a team of three inspectors in September 2013.

  • Good in Teaching and Learning
  • Good in Pupil AchievementOfsted Good GP Colour
  • Good in Behaviour and Safety
  • Good in Leadership and Management

The school was further inspected in February 2018 and then again in March 2023.  Both these reports showed that the school continued to improve against a more rigorous inspection framework and the school continues to be Good.

The Report Letter from February 2018 is shown here: adobe-pdf-logo OFSTED REPORT FEBRUARY 2018

The link to our OFSTED page can be found here:  OFSTED page for St Margaret's CE Primary School

Translate this page

Website Design by: WYNCHCO Solutions